Art

Some of my Art

First off, I want to apologize for the lack of posts here. I wasn’t planning to make it public until New Years, but my sister posted the URL on Google Plus… And then there was NanoWrimo, and the Holidays… I could give a whole lot more excuses, but it’d fill the whole post, so I won’t do that. I thought I would share some of my art that I’ve done recently, so… Here is some art.

This was a challenge from my elder sister Athelas, to draw something Anime. It made my mom laugh.
This was a challenge from my elder sister Athelas, to draw something Anime. It made my mom laugh. (Her name is Bunny. She’s a character.)

Eyes Our World

Okay, so this is a bit weird... I was feeling odd that day, and doing an art challenge to draw something purple. Well... It's purple!
Okay, so this is a bit weird… I was feeling odd that day, and doing an art challenge to draw something purple. Well… It’s purple!
The mountains look funny... -.-
The mountains look funny… -.-
I really like this one... It was my third Oil Pastel.
I really like this one… It was my third Oil Pastel.
Another oil pastel.
Another oil pastel.
This is Oil Pastel, pen, charcoal, and pencil. An odd mix...
This is Oil Pastel, pen, charcoal, and pencil. An odd mix…
This is for a challenge. "Create a character inspired by an element." I picked air. This is done with watercolor pencils, without water.
This is for a challenge. “Create a character inspired by an element.” I picked air. This is done with watercolor pencils, without water.
Watercolor pencils with water.
Watercolor pencils with water.
Agape is the Greek word for Unconditional Love.
Agape is the Greek word for Unconditional Love.
Ajeya
One of my characters.
One of my characters.
One of my characters.
Another one of my characters.
Another one of my characters.
38 thoughts on “Some of my Art

  1. Ooh! They look very nice. πŸ™‚ I like to attempt at art, but, alas, I’m not very good at it. :p
    I really like the tree for some reason… It’s very simple, but really pretty at the same time.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I think you could be good at it if you tried. I only show anyone about half of my drawings, because I’m not pleased with the rest. Ooh, if you want to get better, you should get Lee Hammond or Carrie Stuart Park’s books from the library (or something). They’re awesome. Carrie Stuart Parks is a bit better, but Lee Hammond wrote more books.
      Yeah… I’m not sure I’m pleased with the shape of the tree, but I like the drawing as a whole. Thank you!

      Like

  2. Hi, Faith! I had intended to drop by your blog a bit sooner, but I just haven’t gotten around to it until now. I also happen to be an aspiring author, am a little bit younger than you (seeing as I’m turning fourteen on March 9), and am passionate about God, words, and dragons. I seem to have a hard time finding writerly-types my age (meaning I know none), so I was really excited to find out about you! πŸ™‚

    Wow, those are all really good! I used to have an interest in sketching, and wasn’t that bad at it, but it fell by the wayside. I especially like “Agape” and the one with the “funny-looking mountains.” πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you, Natasha! I completely agree with that. It’s pretty hard to find people around this age with the same passions. πŸ™‚

      Thank you! xD It was really fun to make them. *shrugs* It’s never too late to pick it back up again.
      Interestingly, the “Agape” one is edited on MS paint. I accidentally put the accent on the wrong letter, so I edited it on the computer. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. That’s really neat! It was pretty fun for me to see that, because my dad is a pastor, so I knew what that word meant beforehand.

        I occasionally doodle something when I don’t know what else to do. It’s usually just a horse or a heart with a curly tail, though. πŸ˜› I don’t really know what to draw when I want to do something. *shrugs.* Writing is more my thing. I just love crafting words. I think of it as an art.

        Like

        1. *nods* I learned it from an Audio Drama. xP

          I think of it as an art, as well. πŸ™‚ Yeah, I had that same problem. Most of the time I just draw my characters (or try to), but recently I’ve been doing art challenges from a social media site.

          Like

        1. The last two are two of my characters. The first of those two is named Asali. She’s from my current work in progress. The second is a character I created for playing a sort of roleplaying game where you play your own characters. Her name is Yaraha, but she goes by Yara. πŸ™‚

          Like

      2. Nice! Is Asali from Son of a King, then? Or are you working on something else currently?

        I haven’t properly got a work in progress, because I just don’t know what to work on. I have a sort of “Beauty and the Beast” retelling floating around my head, but I still have to flesh out the world that I would be working with. I’ve also considered just writing a blurb on it. I’m not entirely sure what I should do, but I’m beginning to think that the only way that I’m going to flesh it out would be to just write. What do you think?

        Like

        1. I’m working on something else currently. πŸ™‚ Son of a King is actually an old story, but it was the only one that had a real name and a workable teaser. I do still like the characters, though, especially Shawn.

          Really? Asali is actually from a Beauty and the Beast retelling that I’m writing! πŸ˜€
          Yes… I’m generally a seat of the pants writer, but I have never actually finished a novel. However, Asali’s story had been floating around in my head for some time, and then I decided I would write out the notes and figure out what needed to be changed or developed, so that I could know what to work on. Then as I wrote it out, I realized I was writing an outline! It was a bit weird. πŸ˜› I still have to work out some things, but I mostly have the story down already, so I’ll have a vague idea of where I’m going. In previous novels, I’ve always tended to drift off on characters that I liked, but weren’t a big part of the story. I think my outline might help me with keeping on track. So if you had asked me two months ago, I would have said, “Start writing!”, but now I’m a bit more in favor of figuring out where you need to go, at least up to the middle, and then starting to write it. πŸ™‚ But whatever works best for you, you should do.

          Like

  3. That’s so cool! :-D. Is it also set in a fantasy-world?

    Well, it’s starting off in my head as a β€œBeauty and the Beast” retelling. It’s actually a little bit reversed in that the girl is the beast. Spoilers! :-P. I honestly don’t know what works best for me yet. So far, I’ve been a β€œpantser,” but maybe outlining would work better for me. I’ll have to try it sometime.

    Well, maybe of you’re drifting off on characters that you really like, maybe there’s just not enough room for them in the rest of the story? You could try doing something like what Anne Elisabeth Stengl did for Prince Lionheart and several characters in her books and write their stories in a separate book. … Yeah, I’m a die-hard Tales of Goldstone Wood Imp. πŸ˜›

    Like

    1. Yes, it is set in a fantasy world. πŸ™‚ I was think it would be interesting to do a sci-fi Beauty and the Beast, but decided against it.

      Ooh, that sounds interesting! xD And yay for spoilers!
      Yeah… I have that same problem. I’m not sure what works best for me.

      That’s what I was thinking. Shawn from Son of a King actually came from a previous NaNoWriMo story that failed. πŸ™‚
      Really? I absolutely love Tales of Goldstone Wood! Anne Elisabeth Stengl is certainly my favorite author. πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Well, we might find a sci-fi β€œBeauty and the Beast” this year in the Five Enchanted Roses.

    I thought about doing NaNoWriMo, but I didn’t have a storyline to work on for it.

    Eek! Yes, she’s my favorite, too! Which book off hers is your favorite? Do you ever stop by her blog?

    Like

  5. I was thinking the same thing. πŸ˜€

    I’ve done it four times, but I only won twice, the first time, and the most recent.

    Hmm…I don’t know. That’s a hard choice… Maybe Moonblood? I liked that one a lot. What about you?
    Yes, I do, occasionally. I’m considering following it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Really? Are they available somewhere to read?

    Heartless. I LOVE Heartless. I first read it when I was eight or nine, and have read it four more times since. It’s just the romance of it all and the wonderful allegory and so many other things! I also really liked Golden Daughter. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. No… The first one is really bad (I wrote it four years ago), the second one is the one that drifted off with Shawn, the third was never finished, and the forth is just backtstory for a character, and also hasn’t been finished…
      Yeah. I’m not very good at finishing what I start,

      I like Heartless a lot, too. πŸ™‚ I read it when I was… Twelve? Thirteen, maybe? *shakes head* I don’t know.
      Yes. Golden Daughter. *facepalms* My sister was a pre-publication reader for it, and she nearly constantly rants about how very amazingly awesome it is… I really want to read it, but first my library has to get it, and then my mom has to pre-read it… It’s going to be a long wait… πŸ˜›

      Like

  7. *Shakes head, grinning.* I have the same problem. I start working on a story and then, β€œOoh! Look, Squirrel!” πŸ˜›

    Oh boy. I’d better not start ranting about it, then. It’s really long, too. I’m thinking that it was five hundred eighty pages.

    So, so, do you ever drop by Anne Elisabeth’s blog?

    Like

  8. Yes… Or, “Ooh! New story!” (Or character, more often. xD)

    Yeah, don’t. xD You might give away spoilers. And my sister said someone died in it, so… πŸ˜›

    Yes, I do, though not terribly often. I just recently started following it, though, so I should see all the posts. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Yeah. I have a hard time creating new characters, actually. They’re usually determined by the storyline, which is determined by a blatant allegory usually similar to Heartless. But I’m working on it. I haven’t got anything on paper, but I am working on it. πŸ™‚

    Yes, I was none too thrilled when Athelas said that. Throughout the rest of the book, I was thinking, β€œPlease don’t be him. Please don’t be her. Please don’t be him. Please don’t be her…”

    Yeah, I really like her blog. I’ve learned a lot from her. πŸ™‚

    So, other than Anne Elisabeth, what other authors do you like?

    Like

  10. Yeah. It’s actually easier for me to come up with character ideas than story ideas.

    Yep. xD Did it end up being someone you said that about?

    *nods*

    Hmm… Well, two of my older sisters… But with published authors, I like Brian Davis, for his Dragons in our Midst and Oracles of Fire series’s. I also like N. D. Wilson for his Series’s 100 Cupboards and Ashtown Burials, but Ashtown Burials is a bit more disturbing than what I normally read. Uhm… Donita K. Paul. I’ve liked her books, The Dragon Keeper Chronicles, since I was eight or nine, and I still like it. It’s appropriate for younger people, but still a great read for older people, too.
    … I’m sure there’s others, but I can’t think of anyone else. Oh! Brian Jacques. His theology is a bit different than mine, but I like his books, The Angel’s Command and Castaways of the Flying Dutchman.

    Like

  11. Spoilers… :-P. I’ll say who it was later. I know that saying if it was, it wouldn’t tip you off now, but it might later, so I just can’t say.

    I liked the Dragons in our Midst series. My parents and grandparents would read it to me when I was really little. It’s the serious that really got me hooked on dragons. I haven’t read the Oracles of Fire, though. I haven’t heard of N. D. Wilson or Brian Jacques. I read part of the Dragon Keeper Chronicles, but I got bogged down in Dragon Knight. 😦

    I’ve been trying to read more classics voluntarily, and I’ve find that I like John Milton, C. S. Lewis, and Tolkien. Edgar Allan Poe isn’t bad either. I plan to be reading more of all of them.

    As for more modern authors, I like Robert Liparulo. I’m currently reading the Immortal Files, and I’ve also read the Dream House Kings series. Wayne Thomas Batson is good. I’ve also read a good bit of Ted Dekker, too.

    Like

  12. Aw, man. πŸ˜›

    *nods* My older siblings read it when I was little, and soon all our games centered around ‘half-dragons’ xD Oracles of Fire is basically a sequel series to Dragons in Our Midst.
    Yeah… I think Dragon Fire is my favorite of that series, but I guess you never got that far.

    *nods* I’ve never read any of John Milton’s books. I kind of like C. S. Lewis, but of his books I’ve only ever read Narnia. And I like Tolkien a lot. πŸ˜€ And… I’ve never read any of Edgar Allan Poe’s works, either.

    Hmm… I’ll have to look Robert Liparulo and Wayne Batson up. πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. πŸ˜›

    Haha! Nice! Yeah, I wrote a small fanfiction for them when I was little. I don’t know what happened to it. It was probably really dreadful, though, considering how old I was when I wrote it.

    Yeah, I had heard of the Oracles of Fire. Maybe I’ll look them up sometime. πŸ™‚

    And no, I suppose I didn’t get to Dragon Fire. 😦

    Yeah, technically speaking, I haven’t either. On the first time around of my reading Paradise Lost, I had to read one of the versions that were in modern English. But I’m trying it again in the original version. You can really appreciate his work more when you know his backstory, which is really amazing.

    Yeah, haven’t actually read all of the Chronicles of Narnia, but I listened to an audiodrama done by Focus on the Family. It’s very good. Right now, I’m reading his Until We Have Faces. I wouldn’t have found it if Anne Elisabeth hadn’t recommended it. It’s neat to see just how much it influenced Starflower.

    Edgar Allan Poe is a romanticist, so his works aren’t Christian. A lot of his, writings are rather creepy. Especially the β€œTell-Tale Heart” and the β€œRaven.”

    Like

  14. Yeah… My old stories were… *facepalms* You just don’t want to see them.

    Good idea. πŸ™‚ I haven’t read the whole series. I’m still waiting for my mom to pre-read one of the books in the middle. xD

    Really? I’ve listened to the Audio Drama of The Horse and His Boy, which is my favorite of the Narnia books.

    *nods*

    Like

  15. Haha, it’s the same with some of mine. Nonetheless, they were a start. πŸ™‚

    Yeah, they have all of them on audiodrama, and they’re all very well done.

    So, today I started a bit of an outline for a backstory to my β€œBeauty and the Beast” story. πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. We all have to start somewhere. πŸ™‚

    Yes, I think I do. It’s all very rough, and I’m just getting a general feeling for it. Actually, my earlier attempts at writing have been rather helpful. I’m working a bit with a young girl with a big imagination, so some of my own daydreamings and writings from when I was little.

    Like

  17. I hope so. πŸ™‚ I’ve finished the background outline, and a bit about the setting. Would it be OK if I were to send it to you? I would love some feedback.

    Like

  18. I expected that question, so I put my contact information in my Gravatar profile. If you look at the sidebar of my blog, you’ll see a picture of fire. Under that is my profile and links, and under that is a link to see the whole profile. My email address is on there. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you! I can’t do anything with paint. It’s an epic fail whenever I try. Colored pencils take a lot more work (and time!) than graphite, but I think the end result is worth how many years I’ve spent on them. I didn’t think I would be good with Oil Pastels, but they’re surprisingly easy to use, if you get good quality ones.
      Yep, same one. πŸ™‚ She’s two years older than me.

      Like

Please keep comments clean.

