books · Characters · Important · The Power Of... · Writing

The Power of Stories

Okay. Many– in fact, I think all– of you are writers. Yes?
I know that as a writer, I sometimes doubt whether it’s worth it. I mean, what can a novel do? Entertain someone for a day or two? And that’s all, right?
Wrong, actually.
Through the past few months, I’ve realized how very powerful stories are.
Stories can change worlds, and, more importantly, they can change hearts. They can change the way people view things, what they think about, and what they do.
Allow me to give you an example.
About two weeks ago (actually, I’m not sure how long it was exactly), I read a book in which angels and demons played a very major role.*
A few days later, I read another book in which angels played a large role.**
And since then, I’ve been almost constantly thinking of angels and demons. “What do angels look like?” “How close are they?” “What kinds of angels are there?” I even had a dream with demons in it.
But you see, stories have the power to change thoughts. Thoughts change hearts, hearts change actions, and actions change worlds.
You might never even know that your book started that niggling little thought in that one person. But if it causes one person to start thinking about their life, and if it leads to them being saved…
I’d say it’s worth it, a million times over.

_________________________________________________________________________________________
*Cloak of The Light, by Chuck Black. It’s a very good book. Better than mostΒ I’ve read recently. You should look it up. πŸ™‚
**The Blue Door, by Crista Kinde.Β I wasn’t very impressed with the first book, but with the sequels, I got very wrapped up in the story, though I don’t agree with all the theology…

5 thoughts on “The Power of Stories

  1. Hey! Visiting from the GTW’s link-up.
    Thank you for sharing. I know that sometimes I feel like it’s not worth it to spend so much time on my writing, but in reality I know that in the end it is. Thank you for reminding me of that. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. No problem. πŸ™‚ Thank you for reading! Only recently did I realize how important it can be, and I was having some doubts before that, so I figured some other people would be, too. πŸ™‚

      Like

Please keep comments clean.

