books · Characters · NaNoWriMo · Tags · Writing

Beautiful Books: From Stranger Worlds


Last year, I did this tag with Won’t Feel a Thingand it was pretty cool, so I figured, why not do it again?

For those of you who don’t know, Beautiful Books is a tag hosted by Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In.  It’s a NaNoWriMo-themed variation on their normal monthly tag, Beautiful People. Instead of asking questions of your character, Beautiful Books gives you a list of questions to answer about your NaNoWriMo story, or just any WIP. Make sure to click the graphic to read some other participating blogs.

Without any further intro (because I have a tendency to ramble in these…), here’s stuff about my novel, From Stranger Worlds!



from_stranger_worlds_cover_by_faith_song-dbju94q


1

Whoo, this question has a long answer. There wasn’t any one thing that gave me the idea for FSW, it was more like a collection of events, so I’ll just go with the first one (that way you won’t be reading this through next week).

I and my siblings were watching one of the old superman movies, where the Kryptonian general, Zod, came in and wreaked havoc, then went to the President of the United States, walked right in, and gave his terms (which, incidentally, were “I’m in charge, na-nanny-boo-boo!”). That was then when I thought, “What if aliens came and quietly approached an Earth world leader to negotiate land for them to settle?” Then I got to thinking what kind of terms there would be if the leader agreed.

The story has changed a lot since then, but that was where the first idea came from.

2

I just happen to have an official (if a little rough) teaser for you.


Sylvester Lee met an alien when he was twelve years old.

The problem was, no one believed him, and the only other witness had a strange lapse of memory.

It’s been nine years since that day, and Sylvester is now an investigative reporter with one goal in mind: the aliens are living among us, and he intends to prove it.

This presents quite a problem for Leslie Hughes, his cheerful, but dreadfully nervous intern. Because what Sylvester doesn’t know is that Leslie is the alien that he met in the alley that night. Half alien, half human, all secrets, she’s monitering Sylvester to prevent him from revealing the aliens’ presence.

And she’ll do just about anything to keep her people safe.

Things are going along smoothly until they encounter Chareh, a young alien living among the humans, the girl who holds the secret that will make both worlds violently collide.

From Stranger Worlds will take you on a thrilling tour through the world of 50’s America—but it may not be the world you know.


3

For more, click the picture to visit the Pinterest board where all these came from.4866b85b0a3868fcf495ad08a16aa1d6Aesthetic words

4

5

f8909edf6b37dbcefceaf818c3d2bb12


An ambitious reporter who is nineteen, cheerful, and also half alien.

 


6

2f6a5d239dcdf9ce075e115555db8df4


Another, even more ambitious reporter, who is twenty-two, and is convinced that the aliens are here—and he intends to prove it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


7

913316a5ae8e29de5d19fc2b0d9e6826


A small, relatively weak fifteen-year-old alien who has been studied by humans for two years. She carries a deadly secret, but no one else knows she’s the one who has it.

 

 

 


 

8

Well, with my last novel (Until the Stars Fall), I basically brainstormed and wrote out, on paper in a binder, what was going to happen, “and then this person would do this, and this would happen, ect.,” and for the one before that (Won’t Feel a Thing), I did basically the same thing, more erratically, on a smaller scale, and on the computer. But I really don’t know how to prepare for From Stranger Worlds. The story has a very different feel than my previous novels. I’m kind of winging it.

9

I dunno, I’m looking forward to a lot… This is a hard choice. I can only say one thing I’m looking forward to?

Well, I have to say I’m looking forward to the setting the most. I grew up on 50’s stories, from Yours Truly, Johnny Dollar and The Adventures of Superman, to Singin’ in the Rain, to The Lone Ranger, Roy Rogers, and The Patty Duke Show.

The 50’s has to be the golden age of stories (and they’re clean!), and I’ve had a partiality to the decade for a while.

Also, I really like designing other cultures and cities, and combining the 50’s with the alien people that I’ve constructed is just really fun. 😀

10

I’m just going to go with random things. xD Because I can.

1

d098d0b3d180d18b-halo-fan-art-sci-fi-2742660

Welcome to the underwater city Tehsischi! It’s a place little known by humans, but in the story, it’s hidden off the coast of Northern California, far beneath the Ocean. The huge sub-sea structure houses nearly the entire Kehrib (alien) population on Earth, and is a thriving metropolis that’s been there for generations, seen by very few humans.

2

inktober_7__shy_by_faith_song-dbpy5xf

It’s a bit like a cat, and a bit like a weasel. The Kehrib brought them here to Earth, and somehow a few got out into New Hastings, the coastal human city. So while they’re cute, and the household pet of many Kehrib families, they’ve also become a great pest.

3

inktober_18__filthy_by_faith_song-dbr19hs

A segment (albeit a small one) of Kehrib are very superstitious, and to ward against demons and other nasty things that humans carry around, they wear charms made of bronze, clipped to bracelets and belts.

And, yes. She has multicolored hair. Their hair shows their emotions, and she’s got quite a wealth of them at this moment (you can click the picture for more information).

11

In a way, Lesley and Sylvester are in direct opposition. Sylvester wants to prove what he saw all those years ago, and Lesley wants her people to be safe. To do that, she has to keep the secret from being revealed.

Now, Chareh… Well, she’s got a secret that will blast both those goals out of the water and present a much more pressing problem.

What she wants is to not have to bear the secret any more. She wants to not be under constant pressure. And she wants to be strong.

12

Well, now, that would be a spoiler, wouldn’t it?

… Actually, I don’t know. I’m less prepared for this NaNo than I have been in a long time.

13

Themes. Heh. Yeah…

So, I usually don’t figure out the theme until about halfway through the first draft. Sooo… I don’t know. I think it’ll have something to do with identity.

(Note: Last Beautiful books, I made a guess at the theme, and it did come out pretty strongly, so I guess from now on, I should just trust my guesses. 😛 What I guess is usually what a main character is working through.)

4

11 thoughts on “Beautiful Books: From Stranger Worlds

  1. Agh!! This sounds AMAZING!! When do I get to read it!? Haha if you need a beta, I volunteer! I look forward to hearing an more details about it, and maybe one day reading it (please!)?

    Like

  2. OHMYWOOORDDD!!!! I love the premise of this story so much you have no idea!!! Aliens aren’t TYPICALLY my thing??? But I love how the chipper intern IS the alien (ahem, PART alien)!!!! Eeep!! And the picture you chose for her is cute too!!

    Like

    1. Ha. xD Thanks! I’m glad you like it. 🙂 Yeah, aliens aren’t usually my thing, either, which is why it was weird that I got this idea. 😛
      Psh. Part alien, obviously. 😉 Thanks. xD

      Like

Please keep comments clean.

